Everywhere But Home

News and musings from wherever my crazy life takes me. My body may be back in Illinois, but at least for now, my mind is still in Mongolia.

I have an address!

Leave a comment

This is a big deal, people. You have no idea how long it took me to learn the address at which I can be reached. It sounds incredible to us western folk, but Mongolians don’t use mailing addresses. Culturally, I suppose it makes sense; the Mongolians are historically a nomadic people. Heck, a third of the populations still lives in gers, even some of the city-dwellers. My roommate’s parents, for instance.

For those of you too lazy to do your own wikipedia/google image search, this Australian expat’s blog is a great illustrated explanation: http://tanyavok.blogspot.com/2011/01/ger.html

But anywho, the point of this post. Supposedly, I can receive mail if you send it to me at my school. Thus, my mailing address (which should be written in both English and Cyrillic, apparently) is:

Vocational School of Agriculture
Orkhan Aimag, postal box 986

Орхон Аймаг 
Хөдөө Аж Ахуйн Мэргэжил Сургалт Үйлдвэрлэлийн Төв
Шуудангийн хайрцаг: 986

Obviously, please put my name on there too.

This is not intended as a shameless plug for mail, but if you want to write me letters, I’d be delighted to receive them.

Author: everywherebuthome

Linguist. Fulbright English Teaching Assistant. Expat in Mongolia. Writer. Scout, dancer, gymnast, equestrienne.

Leave a Reply

